The Social Liberal Forum exists to nurture and demonstrate progressive liberal values, working with social liberals across all political parties and none.

We challenge current inward-looking, pessimistic narratives, by offering credible solutions to society’s problems. These are based on the founding Beveridge principles that the welfare state should provide a safety net beneath which none shall fall but all can rise. 

We take action together and as individuals to increase social justice, to ensure that all citizens have access to the wealth, power and opportunity needed to maximise their talents to the full.

Above all, we emphasise freedom and fairness so that everyone, regardless of background, is free from conformity and social hardship.

The Forum is run by volunteers and is governed by a constitution which is available to read here.


Social Liberal Forum Council

The Social Liberal Forum elects members to its governing council every two years.  The most recent elections took place in August 2016.

Members elected to the SLF 2016-2018 Council are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Mark Blackburn

  • Louise Bloom

  • Kelly-Marie Blundell

  • Iain Brodie-Browne

  • Prateek Buch

  • Natasha Chapman

  • Luke Croydon

  • Helen Flynn

  • Sarah Green

  • Evan Harris

  • Bradley Hillier-Smith

  • Paul Hindley

  • Kirsten Johnson

  • Gordon Lishman

  • Sean Oxspring

  • Geoff Payne (Hackney)

  • Geoff Payne (Herts)

  • Mary Reid

  • Edward Robinson

  • Seth Thevoz


Social Liberal Forum Executive

The Forum is run day-to-day by an executive consisting of the following volunteers: 

Chair: Helen Flynn

Vice Chair: Gordon Lishman

Executive Director: Sarah Green

Head of Events: Mary Reid

Head of Conferences: Virginia Morck