Our Purpose

The Social Liberal Forum exists to nurture and demonstrate progressive liberal values, working with social liberals across all political parties and none.

We challenge current inward-looking, pessimistic narratives, by offering credible solutions to society’s problems. These are based on the founding Beveridge principles that the welfare state should provide a safety net beneath which none shall fall but all can rise. 

We take action together and as individuals to increase social justice, to ensure that all citizens have access to the wealth, power and opportunity needed to maximise their talents to the full.

Above all, we emphasise freedom and fairness so that everyone, regardless of background, is free from conformity and social hardship.

The Forum is run by volunteers and is governed by a constitution which is available to read here.

Social Liberal Forum Council

The Social Liberal Forum elects members to its governing council every two years.  The most recent elections took place in August 2018.

Members elected to the SLF 2018-2020 Council are listed below in alphabetical order: 

Iain Brodie-Browne Geoff Payne
Arif Erdogan Paul Pettinger
David Grace Denali Ranasinghe
Louise Harris Stephen Richmond
Paul Hindley James Sandbach
Neil Hughes Joe Toovey
Gordon Lishman Janice Turner

Clicking on a council member's name will take you to the manifesto which they provided as part of their nomination (where available).

The council is also sub-divided into a northern and southern group which each take on specific responsibilities for the SLF, particularly organising events in their respective parts of the UK

Social Liberal Forum Officers

The Council elects officers to oversea the administration of the SLF. At present the elected officers are as follows:

Chair: Ian Brodie-Brown

Deputy Chair: Louise Harris

Vice Chair, North: Paul Hindley

Treasurer: Gordon Lishman